Classical themed Recommendations

Manga Hunter here once again and for some reason, I was in a classical mood, so these recommendations are for classical theme lovers out there.

Manga

Classi9 by: YOSHIMURA Tsumuji

 classi9

(image from Baka-Updates)

After being accepted by the Melite Conservatory of Music, Taki Ren, travels all the way to the City of Music, Vienna, to fulfill her dream of becoming a composer. However, there’s one problem: Melite is an all-boy’s school! Her classmates are all musical geniuses, but they also come with problems!

(summary from Baka-Updates)

I grew very excited when I started reading this, especially since I read that it is a reverse harem and indeed it is. So many hot guys based off of famous composers in the classical world with strange yet lovable personalities fit for an otome game setting. The main character also cross-dresses, so the comedy is also present in her girly ways. There are thirteen chapters translated so far and I look forward to more.

 

Kimi no Tame ni Hiku Chopin by: NAGAE Tomomi

Kimi no Tame ni Hiku Chopin 

(image from Baka-Updates)

Our protagonist, Kazune, met Hiroyuki by chance when she was very little, and she remembers even now how much fun she had listening to his piano performance. She has always dreamed of meeting him again, but when she does, he is called “The Piano Prince” and seems very hard to approach. And then, before her appears the spirit of Chopin himself! He will make the wheel of fate turn for the two main characters!

(summary from Aerandria Scans)

This work is absolutely adorable to me, especially how the girl makes it obvious how much she loves piano and the main guy. Chopin is also present in this and his reactions to modern technology like the electric piano is so adorable. Chopin’s reaction to a certain character also makes me laugh. This is supernatural, so some of you may enjoy it and I recommend listening to Chopin’s music as you read to get into the mood of the story. This hasn’t been updated for a while and I read that it is still ongoing, so let’s hope for more updates in the future for this year.


Anime

La Corda D’Oro Blue♪Sky (licensed by Sentai Filmworks)

 La Corda D'Oro Blue♪Sky

(image from MyAnimeList)

Soon after transferring to Seisou Gakuin, Kanade finds the orchestra club in the middle of preparing for the National concur. Teaming up with the other members, she will improve her skills, meet new rivals and create memories for what will become an unforgettable summer…

(Summary from MyAnimeList)

Do you remember La Corda D’Oro? Well, this is the sequel to that series with a different main character. I admit that I hate sequels with different main characters, but this is the exception. It is a reverse harem and I love the classical music being played in this series. This is a licensed work of Sentai Filmworks according to what I saw in the shows section of Sentai Filmworks and I plan to get at a later date when I have the money for it. That’s how much I like it. Nearly forgot to mention that there are some cameos of characters from the original series in their adult form, so that should be fun for you guys, if you were a fan of the first series.


 

Visual Novel

Uta no☆Prince-sama♪ by: Nippon Ichi & Broccoli

uta no prince sama game

(image from the visual novel database)

Find a boy and shape him into an idol. Saotome Academy is a school for all aspiring idols and performance artist. You are Nanami Haruka, one of the talented composers who squeezed into the school. All these school idols have a one purpose, they are to sign with a production company and debut. Find the voice who could bring out the life in your songs. All the boys are potential stars, you have to draw out their full potential and their soft sides.

(summary from the visual novel database)

I admit that this is not classical music, but some of the hot guys have instruments and there is music, so it counts for this post. Anyway, this is an otome game with music talented capture targets with their own dramatic routes. I never actually played the game, but I read the summaries and I just loved it, so of course I watched the anime when it was made. The anime is actually in anime recommendations right now and it is licensed by Sentai Filmworks. I plan to get the anime when I have the chance.

If you guys like, you can read the summaries of the routes of the visual novel by clicking the picture below and make sure to support Love Colored Sky for the hard work.

uta no prince sama summary link

 

(image from Love Colored Sky)


 

Those are my classical themed recommendations. I hope you enjoy them like I do and as always, please support the creators of the work and the translators when you can.

Leave a Reply

