Online Comic Recommendations

All right guys, I admit that this post was supposed to be titled Manga Recommendations, but realized that the recommendations for today are all online comics that were translated into English, so this will be the first post for, hopefully, many more online comics that we can all enjoy.

Märchen – The Embodiment of Tales by: PARK Sung Woo

marchen

(image from Baka-Updates)

Märchen is a young man who was saved from the brink of death by a martial arts master by infusing her Ki into him. However, things take a turn when Märchen has no interest in fighting and aims to live a peaceful life.

His “Master” then decides to make use of his ability to become stronger simply by reading tales and absorbing the techniques used in them. She introduces a huge library, filled with all kinds of books that record different forms of martial arts and techniques, to him.

Märchen picks up a book and begins to read…

(summary from Baka-Updates)

Ever since I was a child, I loved fairy tales (was made to read them since my father only told Edgar Allan Poe stories to me and my sister as bedtime stories), so this story was quite the treat. I love how the stories I loved as a child were changed to fit martial arts themed stories and how the main character uses these stories to learn martial arts is also very interesting. You can also see this story as a story within a story, but there is a plot; I promise.


ReLIFE by: YAYOI Sou

relife

(image from Baka-Updates)

Kaizaki Arata is a 27-year-old, out-of-work man who has failed at each and every job interview he has had after quitting his last company where he only lasted three months.

His life changes after he meets Yoake Ryou of the ReLife Research Institute, who offers him a drug that can change his appearance to that of a 17-years-old again. Taking the drug, he becomes a subject in a one-year experiment in which he begins his life as a high school student again.

(summary from Baka-Updates)

Have you ever had those moments where you wish you were young again and going to high school, well the main character gets that chance and I have to admit that I can relate to this character a bit. Not the big tragedy part, but the job searching part and that even though you have a part-time job, you can still be considered a NEET. There is comedy in this thing and some romance, but pay more attention to the comedy since that is what makes people smile. I’m not sure about this information, but I heard that this might become an anime in 2016. Let’s hope the rumor is real.


Kubera by: currygom

kubera

(image from Baka-Updates)

Gods with everlasting lives.
Sura who possess unrivaled power.
And humans, caught helplessly in-between.

When Kubera’s peaceful village meets its fiery end, a mysterious magician named Asha comes to her rescue—together they begin on a journey in search of answers and revenge. Meanwhile across the realms, a web of entwined fates is growing tighter… One by one the other players of the game will emerge, each with their own agenda to pursue.

At the center of this maelstrom stands Kubera, the girl with a god’s name. Will this sixteen-year-old be the salvation of the world… or its destruction?

(summary from The Company)

This online comic let me learn some new names of Gods I never heard of. I am Christian, but this story doesn’t bother me at all. I love how the Gods are used in this story and the main character girl kicks butt at times. I must also add that there is a male yandere in this story, but he appears much MUCH later in the story, but it is still a good read and it is licensed in English.


The Gamer by: Sung San-Young & Sang-Ah

the gamer

(image from Baka-Updates)

Han Jee-Han, a normal high school student, suddenly develops a special power where his entire world is shifted into a game-like setting. He can see the power levels of people, look at the stats of a seemingly normal item, get abilities, and even level up! Follow Han Jee-Han as he discovers how to use this power, and maybe even where it came from.

(summary from Baka-Updates)

I am quite shocked at myself that I didn’t suggest this earlier, since this was the story that inspired me to make the story NPC. As the title suggests this is a story about a gamer who fights in real life. I really enjoy this story and just wondering what new skill or item he’ll get makes it even more exciting. You guys might enjoy this as much as I do and this is licensed as well.


Those are the online comic recommendations and I hope to see more in the future. As always, please support the creators of these works and translators when you can,