Recently Got Into XXII

Manga Hunter here again! I was bored at work and started reading this one light novel and I am totally hooked.

The Bears Bear a Bare Kuma by: Kumanano & 029

Yuna, a 15 year old girl started playing the world’s first VRMMO.

She has earned billions of yen in stocks, and confines herself in her house playing the game without going to school.

Today, a major update has arrived and she obtained a non-transferable rare bear outfit.

But the equipment is so embarrassing that she can’t wear it even in the game.

Furthermore, when she answers the survey regarding the new update and relaunches the game, she appears in and unknown forest in the bear outfit.

Where is this? Email from God? A different world?

If she wears the bear outfit she’s a cheat, if she takes it off she’s a normal girl. Her adventure starts just like that. Yuna began doing whatever she wanted.

(summary from Shinsori Translations)

I admit that I was reluctant to read a story about a girl in a bear suit, but it is too cute! It makes me want to have a bear costume of my own and I love how she just goes with the flow and attempts to not be too lazy. I look forward to more translated chapters.


That’s it for now and as always please support the creators of the work and the translators when you can.

Manga Recommendations IX

Manga Hunter here again! I am making more manga recommendations.

LLLL by: Ataru Tei

cover_02

(image from Baka-Updates)

Don’t let go of your lamp or get close to the darkness.

Since ancient times, there have been spirits of darkness in this town. They dwell in the darkness. The “lamps of darkness,” whose flames are made of human souls, live in their hand.

We are afraid of the darkness because the spirits of darkness quietly rob humans of their souls from the shadows. Countless human souls have been made into their flames.

You too, be careful so that you won’t have your soul robbed.

(summary from Baka-Updates)

I read this in college and enjoyed it quite a bit, even though it was only one volume. Even though I admit that the summary sounded dark, it was a lighthearted story with a bit of romance…I think I’ll reread it when I am not too busy.


Sentou Jousai Masurawo by: HAYASHI Tomoaki & Asai Renji

sentou jousai masurawo

(image from Baka-Updates)

Hideo Kawamura has a really terrifying look, but soft heart. While contemplating suicide, he stumbled upon this computer that contained the virus, “Wiruko”, who convinced him to join the “Seimahei”, a fighting tournament that has the world as its prize. However, Hideo happens to not have any fighting skills whatsoever, so he has to get through on his wits (and luck) alone.

(summary from Village Idiot)

This was a fun read, even though, according to Baka-Updates, it was a rushed ending and I have to agree. The ending seemed open-ended, but I can’t deny that the story was interesting with all the challenges and how the character made it through using his wits and luck. His partner was also interesting with her being a virus and her obvious like for the main character towards the end. I wish this can be continued, but that’s what Fanfics and imagination are for. ^_^


Those are my recommendations and as usual, please support the creators of these works and the translators when you can.